If you ask any anime lover- which series should someone new to the anime should watch?. The answer is always simple either Death Note or Fullmetal Alchemist. And when it comes to watching these, Death Note is a pretty straight one. On the other hand, Fullmetal Alchemist makes people confused. Since there are two series one came out in 2003 and the other in 2009. And for that reason’s today we are going to see what is the correct watch order of Fullmetal Alchemist. So here’s the full guide on How to Watch Fullmetal Alchemist in the correct order.

Have a good read, and don’t forget to check our other latest articles on the latest Anime & Manga developments.


How to Watch Fullmetal Alchemist in Correct Order:

As you might already know that there are two versions of this anime. Fullmetal Alchemist first came out in 2003. And later Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood came out in 2009. Now what most people might not know is that the latter one is not a remake of the first.

When it first came out in 2003, the anime went in a completely different direction than the manga. On the other hand, Fullmetal alchemist is completely based on manga. And follows the word till the end.

So, this makes both versions separate from each other and not as a sequel or further story to one another. Now you must be thinking then what’s the correct order you should be watching? Well, this decision is yours to make. But I will lay down some points to make it easier for you to decide.

Fullmetal Alchemist (2003): 

How To Watch Fullmetal Alchemist In Correct Order

if you decide that you want to know everything about Fullmetal, then I would say start with 2003. But within the 2003 version here’s the proper continuity in which you should watch:

  • Fullmetal Alchemist: It has a total of 51 episodes. The series follows the manga till the first half and has a different conclusion altogether. It contains more than 50% fillers.
  • Fullmetal Alchemist: The Conqueror of Shamballa: This one is a movie from 2005. It’s a sequel to the 2003 series and should be watched once you have completed watching 51 episodes. It also acts as a conclusion to the series.

Fullmetal Alchemist (2009):

How To Watch Fullmetal Alchemist In Correct Order

if you want to watch the 2009 version of Fullmetal alchemist then here’s the proper continuity in which you should watch:

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood (2009): This is the main series and follows the storyline from the manga. It has 61 episodes with approx 2-3 % fillers in it.

Then we have 4 special episodes of Fullmetal alchemist. That you should watch after you complete the main storyline. I have mentioned these in the order they were released. You can watch them in any order you may like.

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood Special:

  • The Blind Alchemist (2009)
  • Simple People (2009)
  • The Tale of Teacher (2010)
  • Yet Another Man’s Battlefield (2010)

Fullmetal Alchemist: The Sacred Star of Milos (2011): This is a side story and not to be treated as a sequel. The story takes place after episodes 20 – 24. So either you can watch this when you reach episode 24. Or simply just watch afterward. Since it won’t impact the main storyline.

OVA(Original Video Animations):

How To Watch Fullmetal Alchemist In Correct Order

Fullmetal alchemists have some OVA as well. We will mention these separately as both versions have OVA. Remember these can be considered as fillers or for promotional purposes. And hence can be skipped. But if you want to have more fun with the series i would say go for it.

Fullmetal Alchemist 2003 OVA:

  • Chibi Party: It’s basically a wrap party for the series where everyone meets at the local restaurant. Shows all the characters from the movie and series in chibi style.
  • Kids: This particular OVA is interesting as this one follows three children around town. These look a lot like the Elric brothers and Winry. some more faces can be seen resembling more characters from the series. Later we see these kids calling ed as their great great grandfather.
  • Live-Action: This OVA follows Alphonse in his armor traveling across real japan to find his brother.
  • Alchemists vs. Homunculi: This is where we are introduced to a new character. who enters the military. Later this new character blows up a building to save Elric Brothers from some of the Homunchuli’s. 
  • Reflections: Alphonse: This is a recap of the series with narrations from the Elric Brothers, Mustang, greed, and envy. COntains various chapters in it.

Also, Read:- Boruto Fillers: How Many Fillers Are there?

Fullmetal Alchemist 2009 OVA:

These OVA are the specials that we have already mentioned with the watch order:

  • The Blind Alchemist (2009)
  • Simple People (2009)
  • The Tale of Teacher (2010)
  • Yet Another Man’s Battlefield (2010)


In the end, I would just like to add that you can watch both the versions or any one of them. But you have to watch both since both are different from one another. Given the different endings, you won’t have to worry about the series being spoiled. And you can enjoy the whole franchise as well. So first watch the 2003 version and then move to Brotherhood 2009.

Where to watch/Read:

Here are the official sites where you can watch and read this great masterpiece:

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood – Funimation, Crunchyroll.

Fullmetal Alchemist Manga- Viz.com.

(Please use official sites for watching anime or reading manga, as it shows your support towards your favorite animes).

About The Series:

After a horrifying alchemy experiment goes horribly wrong in the Elric home, Edward and Alphonse find themselves in the terrifying new reality. The boys attempted to resurrect their recently deceased mother despite the alchemical principle prohibiting human transmutation.

Instead, they face terrible personal losses: Alphonse’s body was destroyed. While Edward lost a leg before sacrificing an arm to preserve Alphonse’s soul bound to a massive set of armor in the physical realm.

After the incident, Both the brothers train for years. And begin their quest to find Philosopher’s Stone and get back their bodies. The boys’ adventure becomes embroiled in a rising conspiracy that threatens the fate of the world as Edward becomes an infamous alchemist and earns the moniker “Fullmetal.”